AgentMoveToPosition problem

Here is a forum for reporting failure to Arbor developer.
Please read the forum rules carefully and enter the information necessary to confirm the problem.

Note:
  • Please read the "Update Guide" carefully when updating Arbor.
  • The bugs that we already know are summarized in "Known Issues", so please check once.
  • Please check ReleaseNote and use the latest version if possible before reporting a bug.
  • Unity beta and alpha versions are not supported. Please use the official release version.
  • In principle, defects caused by the introduction of other assets are not supported. If you find a defect, please report it after isolating which asset is the problem.

ここは、Arbor開発者へ不具合を報告するためのフォーラムです。
フォーラムルールをよく読み、不具合確認に必要な情報を記載するようお願いします。

注意点:
  • Arborを更新する際は「アップデートガイド」をよく読み行ってください。
  • 既に把握している不具合は「既知の問題」にまとめてありますので一度確認してみてください。
  • 不具合報告をする前にReleaseNoteを確認し、なるべく最新バージョンを使用して下さい。
  • Unityのベータ版およびアルファ版はサポート対象外です。正式リリース版をご利用ください。
  • 他アセット導入による不具合は原則サポート対象外です。不具合を見つけた場合はどのアセットの問題であるか切り分けた上でのご報告をお願いいたします。

Forum rules
The items necessary for reporting are as follows.
  • OS(Required)
  • Unity version(Required)
  • Arbor version(Required)
  • How to reproduce(Required)
    The reproduction method should be described accurately so that anyone can read the same procedure.
    If you do not know the exact reproduction procedure, as long as you can remember it, so please tell us what you were doing immediately before and the last time you edited it.
  • Build platform
  • Reproduction project (Minimum configuration not including Arbor and other assets) or video

Note:
  • Please read the "Update Guide" carefully when updating Arbor.
  • The bugs that we already know are summarized in "Known Issues", so please check once.
  • Please check ReleaseNote and use the latest version if possible before reporting a bug.
  • Unity beta and alpha versions are not supported. Please use the official release version.
  • In principle, defects caused by the introduction of other assets are not supported. If you find a defect, please report it after isolating which asset is the problem.

報告に必要な項目は以下の通りです。
  • OS(必須)
  • Unityバージョン(必須)
  • Arborバージョン(必須)
  • 再現方法(必須)
    再現方法については、誰が読んでも同様の手順を行えるよう正確に記述するようにお願いいたします。
    もし正確な再現手順が不明な場合、覚えている限りで構いませんので直前に行っていたことや最後に編集した時のことを教えてください。
  • ビルドプラットフォーム
  • 再現プロジェクト(Arborや他アセットなどを含まない最小構成)もしくは動画

注意点:
  • Arborを更新する際は「アップデートガイド」をよく読み行ってください。
  • 既に把握している不具合は「既知の問題」にまとめてありますので一度確認してみてください。
  • 不具合報告をする前にReleaseNoteを確認し、なるべく最新バージョンを使用して下さい。
  • Unityのベータ版およびアルファ版はサポート対象外です。正式リリース版をご利用ください。
  • 他アセット導入による不具合は原則サポート対象外です。不具合を見つけた場合はどのアセットの問題であるか切り分けた上でのご報告をお願いいたします。
frank_li
Posts: 5
Joined: 2023/12/05 08:51

AgentMoveToPosition problem

Post by frank_li »

Hi,
I found some problems with the AgentMoveToPosition behavior. If the agent moves fast from greater distance the Stopping Distance is not respected. The agent is moved then exactly to the given position.
E.g. When I start from a distance like 8 m with a speed of 8 he ignores the distance, but when I start from like 4 m he stops at the given distance.

Secondly, when the agent reaches the border of the navmesh, it stops moving, sets velocity to zero, but the CantMove transition is never called.

Regards
Frank
User avatar
caitsithware
管理人
Posts: 493
Joined: 2015/08/17 12:41

Re: AgentMoveToPosition problem

Post by caitsithware »

The Stopping Distance value is simply set to NavMeshAgent.stoppingDistance.
The CantMove transition will only transition when NavMeshAgent.SetDestination() returns false.

Both seem to be problems due to NavMeshAgent specifications.
Please refer to the AI Navigation package manual for details.
frank_li
Posts: 5
Joined: 2023/12/05 08:51

Re: AgentMoveToPosition problem

Post by frank_li »

caitsithware wrote: 2023/12/14 10:41 The CantMove transition will only transition when NavMeshAgent.SetDestination() returns false.
I've seen that in your code, but this happens when the target position is outside the navmesh, so SetDestination should actually return false. I'll investigate this further.
Thanks for fast reply.
frank_li
Posts: 5
Joined: 2023/12/05 08:51

Re: AgentMoveToPosition problem

Post by frank_li »

OK, it seems that if the destination target is outside the navmesh SetDestination moves the agent to the closest point it can reach, stops then and returns true. So in this case your CantMove will be never called and the agent is stalled.
User avatar
caitsithware
管理人
Posts: 493
Joined: 2015/08/17 12:41

Re: AgentMoveToPosition problem

Post by caitsithware »

I see.
Currently, if it does not transition to CantMove even if it is outside the NavMesh range, it will transition to Done when the movement is completed.

As an improvement measure, we will consider adding an option to judge using NavMesh.SamplePosition.

Thank you for your report.
Post Reply